Northumberland CVA won the contract to facilitate and support the Northumberland VCS Assembly in Autumn 2014. The steering group that was already in place to lead the Assembly continued on an interim basis and by the end of June 2015, the Assembly was in a position to have a democratically elected Executive Committee of twelve members and invited nominations to fill these roles. 

Membership of the VCS Assembly Committee is drawn from across the spectrum of Northumberland’s Voluntary and Community Sector and you can find a list of the current members at the bottom of this page.




A list of the Assembly Executive team members, their representations, particular interests and contact details are available here:


Notes from both the Executive Committee meetings and the original Steering Group meetings are available here:

You can find out more about the Assembly Framework here:


Assembly Process



Current Executive Committee Members


  • General: Abi Conway, Citizens Advice Northumberland
  • General: Joe Jackson, Northumberland CVA
  • General: Mary Ormston, Karbon Homes
  • General: Andrea Perrett, November Club
  • Youth: Jon Niblo, N E Youth
  • Health & Social Care: Ralph Firth, independent Assembly member
  • Health & Social Care: Jim Wyness, Blyth Stroke Support Group
  • Central Northumberland: Sue Ashmore, BPW (North)
  • North Northumberland: Tracy Machnicki, Alnwick Garden
  • South East Northumberland: Gill Smith, Northern Learning Trust
  • West Northumberland: John McGough, NCDC
  • Commission holder: Anne Lyall, Northumberland CVA
  • Co-opted member: Siobhan O’Neil, Cygnus Support



North Northumberland covers: Berwick, Belford, Seahouses, Wooler (the old Berwick Borough Council)

Central Northumberland covers: Alnwick. Rothbury, Amble, Morpeth

South East Northumberland covers: Ashington, Newbiggin by the Sea, Bedlington, Blyth, Cramlington, Seaton Delaval

West Northumberland covers: Tyne Valley, Ponteland, Bellingham, Otterburn, Kielder